“Stop and Stare”

"Stop and Stare" taken by Rachel Cancino-Neill in India: 2010

“Stop and Stare” taken by Rachel Cancino-Neill in India: 2010

Five years ago I had the opportunity to travel to India. There was one place in particular that really captured my attention; it was the village in which this woman lived. I had never been to a place like this. I have been to other villages in the past and in some ways they could compare. But this place—there was such a stark contrast of beauty and deprivation. The colors were bright and full of life, yet a majority of the faces were cast with a dark sadness.

The eyes of this woman, as with many of the eyes I saw in India, caused me to stop and stare. It’s almost as if when they looked at me, they were asking, “Do you see me? Do you see us?”

Five years later I can still say, “I see you.”

3 thoughts on ““Stop and Stare”

Leave a Reply

